MUSHROOM MANIA!

After 5 days of rain, I went for a half hour walk this morning. The first thing that caught my eye was a group of beautiful white mushrooms, amanita muscaria I think. If so, they are quite poisonous. The white skirt on the stem is a clue for identification.img_8182

Finding one good mushroom opened my eyes to the possibility that there would be more mushrooms peeking out of the damp woods and grass.  Sure enough there were lots! I would like to identify all of them for  you but don’t have time right now. Instead, think of these photos as encouragement to search for mushrooms peeking out around your neighborhood.  I’m pretty sure the next several are members of the shelf mushroom family. People sometimes draw pictures on the underside of them. You can do it too! Oyster mushroom is another name that might also be applicable…

img_8212img_8184img_8194img_8193img_8210

The last one, yellow-gold squiggles, might be called Witch’s Butter. Here is another example of some just starting to fruit.

mushroom-witch-butter

The next two samples made me think of bubbles!

img_8190img_8191

They lined the twigs like squishy cotton balls, each trying to push everyone else out of the way! Look carefully for the little tiny ones just starting out as a sphere perched on a skinny leg… I’d love to hang them on my Christmas tree!

img_8201img_8187

A mushroom isn’t a flower but these look like autumn flowers among the dead leaves.

mushroom3bimg_8198

They are all different! And in different stages of development!

img_8202

Here’s a grubby, out-of-focus puffball. Only saw one other puffball and it looked even more battered.

Thank you for sharing my morning walk! Enjoy yours! If you know the names of any of these specimens, I would love to hear from you. And if you haven’t signed up to be notified about my blog, please do.

Don’t forget to visit my website, http://www.carriestaples.com, to find out about my books, my appearances and my adventures.

 

Published by

Carrie Staples

Author, illustrator of "The Yarn Animal Book", probably the only craft book with instructions for making such unique yarn animals as an orangutan, an ant eater, a llama and a star-nosed mole and "The Single Minded Prince, a fairy tale for all ages about a boy and a pirate captain who both misbehave. The books and a booklet series based on each different yarn craft topic covered in "The Yarn Animal Book" (pompoms and other really easy yarn crafts, knitting, crocheting, rya, needlepoint and embroidery), are available on Amazon and Kindle.

Leave a Reply

